Simon-DeVos Prize for Philanthropic Leadership

Graphic logo for the Simon-DeVos Prize

The William E. Simon Prize was created in 2001 to honor a prominent philanthropist who showed exemplary leadership and vision. For 15 years, the Philanthropy Roundtable, a nonprofit that supports freedom-minded philanthropists, celebrated the legacy of William E. Simon by administering the Prize to individuals whose philanthropic efforts strengthen communities and improve lives while inspiring others to do the same.

In 2021, the DeVos Family Foundation and the Simon Foundation formed a partnership, establishing the new Simon-DeVos Prize for Philanthropic Leadership. The Prize continues the tradition of recognizing philanthropists who have demonstrated leadership through their own charitable giving and have supported causes and charities that achieve positive results. These individuals have been guided by principles such as personal responsibility, resourcefulness, volunteerism, scholarship, individual liberty, faith in God, and helping people to help themselves.

The Simon-DeVos Prize includes a $200,000 award payable to any named charity. Each year’s recipient is honored at the Philanthropy Roundtable’s Annual Meeting, where the Prize and award are presented.

We are honored to partner with the Simon family for the Simon-DeVos Prize. This award shines a light on individuals making a significant impact in the philanthropic sector and their community through generosity. Personal philanthropy reflects the passions of the individual and plays an essential role in creating opportunity, enhancing the arts, improving educational outcomes, meeting basic human needs, and so much more.

Pamella DeVos

Past Recipients

  • 2023 Laura and Jeff Sandefer
  • 2022 Ken Griffin
  • 2021 Bill Oberndorf
  • 2020 John and Susan Sobrato
  • 2019┬áRuss Carson
  • 2018┬áPaul Singer
  • 2017 Pitt and Barbara Hyde
  • 2016 Bruce and Suzie Kovner
  • 2015 David Weekley
  • 2014 Jon Huntsman, Sr.
  • 2013 Eli and Edythe Broad
  • 2012 Bernie Marcus
  • 2011 Charles G. Koch
  • 2010 Roger Hertog
  • 2009 Philip and Nancy Anschutz
  • 2008 S. Truett Cathy
  • 2007 Frank Hanna III
  • 2006 Richard and Helen DeVos
  • 2005 Ben Carson
  • 2004 David Robinson
  • 2003 John Templeton
  • 2002 Raymond G. Chambers
  • 2001 John T. Walton